BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jtscheirer
Calcite | Level 5

I have a large dataset, with about 60,000 rows and 35 columns. I generated a few calculations, which were appended as columns to the end of the table, but I want them to appear in the middle, next to the columns that were used to produce these calculations. I know I can use RETAIN or PROC SQL to list columns in the order I want them to appear, but that is not practical with this large of a dataset. Is there a shorthand way I can just move a couple of columns from the end to specific positions in the middle without having to list every single column name and generate a new table that takes a while to run?

My background is in R, which has the INDEX function that allows users to move columns to a specific position. I'm hoping there is something similar in SAS.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@jtscheirer wrote:

It was only taking a long time to run because I wrote an error in the code. So you are correct, it does not take long to run. But typing out 35 column names is still impractical. I simply want to move columns 33-35 to occupy positions 19-21 instead. The structure would stay the same (60,000 rows and 35 columns)

The number of observations (I assume that is what you meant by "rows") does not matter to the code, just how long it might take to run.  The position number of the variables (I assume that is what you meant by "columns") is useless for this problem.  But if you know the NAMES of the first, 18th, 33rd, and 35th variables then the code is simple using positional variable lists.

Just so we can share some example code let's assume the variables are currently named V1 to V100.  So the names of interest are V1, V18, V33 and V35.  In which case you could run this program.  No RETAIN statement needed.

data want;
  set have(keep=v1 -- v18);