BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS_SoS123
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, 

My question has two parts. I am new at my job and I am working on updating a dataset that is supposed to be updated on a monthly basis. The person who did this before me has macro code written to read in a text file and create a SAS dataset from that text file. The issue is that in order to make the text file, this person took an excel file, edited the dataset in SAS and then exported it as text, which was then read into the macro. 

My question is: 

1. Is there a way to just import the xlsx file and create a SAS dataset that can be used in the macro (so a SAS dataset in the infile statement rather than reading in the txt file)?

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@SAS_SoS123 wrote:

My question is: 

1. Is there a way to just import the xlsx file and create a SAS dataset that can be used in the macro (so a SAS dataset in the infile statement rather than reading in the txt file)?

Yes, you can use PROC IMPORT or a LIBNAME statement to access data in Excel, but unless you provide a lot more details, we can't be more specific.

--
Paige Miller
SAS_SoS123
Calcite | Level 5
The way the other person had it set up was to take an xlsx sheet, change the variable names in excel, import this into sas to then export as txt. Then this txt file was called into the macro using the infile statement. I will try to post an example of the macro edited for privacy.

%LET date = 12feb2021;

/*Read in the tab delimited .txt MASTERLIST file you create from the Masterlist
.xlsx file. (see above)*/
DATA MASTERLIST_&date.;

/*Set the ERROR detection macro variable */
%LET _EFIERR_ = 0;
INFILE "Pathway\MASTERLIST_&date..txt" delimiter='09'x
MISSOVER DSD lrecl=32767 firstobs=2*/;
INFORMAT var1 $4. id $9. var3 $9. var4 $3. var5 $3. var6 mmddyy10.
DOB_ mmddyy10. Sex_ $1. Race_ $16. Marital_ $8.;
FORMAT var1 $4. id $9. var3 $9. var4 $3. var5 $3. var6 mmddyy10.