BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
CalleC
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

As a newbie, I just came across "macro variables". They are said to be local, but then I must misunderstand something. Below is an example that seems to generate a result that gives me the impression that a macro variable (in this case i) is not local within a macro, what do I miss?

%macro macro_B();
	%put macro_B ... ;	
	%do i = 1 %to 5;
		%put macro_B - looping [&=i];
	%end;
	%put macro_B - loop completed [&=i];
%mend;

%macro macro_A();
	%put macro_A ... ;	
	%do i = 1 %to 3;
		%put macro_A - looping [&=i];
		%macro_B();
	%end;
	%put macro_A - loop completed [&=i];
%mend;

%macro_A();

Yields the following output

macro_A ...
macro_A - looping [I=1]
macro_B ...
macro_B - looping [I=1]
macro_B - looping [I=2]
macro_B - looping [I=3]
macro_B - looping [I=4]
macro_B - looping [I=5]
macro_B - loop completed [I=6]
macro_A - loop completed [I=7]

Happy for a quick explanation.
//C

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Quentin
Super User

That is a lovely test case you wrote up!

The point you are missing is that macro variables defined within a macro are not (necessarily) local by default. Thus if you want a macro variable to be local (which 99.9% of the time is the right design IMHO), you need to use the %LOCAL statement to declare them to be local.  

If you add a %LOCAL statement to both macros, they will work as expected:

%macro macro_B();
	%local i ;
	%put macro_B ... ;	
	%do i = 1 %to 5;
	%end;
%mend;

%macro macro_A();
	%local i ;
	%put macro_A ... ;	
	%do i = 1 %to 3;
		%macro_B()
	%end;
%mend;

%macro_A()