BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
matoma
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm very new to macros and they are pretty confusing at the moment so any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Heres what i'm trying to do: 

In a footnote, please summarize the number of the films in which the actor was involved, the average popularity scores of these films, and the number of films that received awards.

I assigned each actor an id, now I'm just trying to make macros for the number of films, average popularity, and number of awards. I know I need %sysfunc and maybe %eval but I'm not sure how to do it. I attached below what I've tried. 

%let id=10;

%let films=%sysfunc(sum(films));

%let pop=%sysfunc(avg(pop));

%let awards=%sysfunc(sum(awards));

proc print data=hw3.films3;

where id=&id;

var title;

title1 "Actor Name: &actor10";

footnote "&films &pop &awards";

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
s_lassen
Meteorite | Level 14

The assignments to your macro variables will not work. A %SYSFUNC statement is calculated immediately, like e.g. 

%let y=4;
%let x=%sysfunc(sqrt(&y));

But an assignment like

will not work, as "films" is a text value.

You will have to calculate the values you want beforehand.

You can do this using a macro, e.g. 

%macro print_actor(id);
  %local name films pop awards;
  proc sq noprint;
    select name, sum(films),avg(pop),sum(awards) 
    into :name trimmed, :films trimmed, :pop trimmed, :awards trimmed
    from hw3.films3 
    where id=&id;
  quit;
  title "Actor Name: &name";
  proc print data=hw3.films;
    where id=&id;
    var title;
  run;
%mend;

%print_actor(10);

Another possibility is to create a view with the values you want, and use #BYVAL in your title and footnotes.

proc sql;
  create view actor_sum as select
    id,title,name,sum(films) as films, avg(pop) as pop,sum(awards) as awards
    from hw3.films
    group by id