BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
shrikrishna
Calcite | Level 5

I need a program to loop through dataset1, which will select 10 usernames from dataset1 filter on those usernames in dataset2 and export that data to the .xlsx file, then select next set of 10 usernames.

I have set of 10000 usernames.

I am new to SAS, will really appreciate all the help.

11 REPLIES 11
Reeza
Super User
Why? Why not just sort the dataset2 filtered by data set1 and then export all records with 10 by groups at a time?
shrikrishna
Calcite | Level 5

One file should contain all data for particular username. limiting number of usernames is just to maintain manageable excel file size.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@shrikrishna wrote:

One file should contain all data for particular username. limiting number of usernames is just to maintain manageable excel file size.

Which means you have to create 10000 files? REALLY??

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@shrikrishna wrote:

I need a program to loop through dataset1, which will select 10 usernames from dataset1 filter on those usernames in dataset2 and export that data to the .xlsx file, then select next set of 10 usernames.

I have set of 10000 usernames.

Splitting up data sets like this is rarely a good thing to do. Unless it is an absolute unchangeable requirement for your project, don't do it. Better is to explain what you are doing and why you need this — we need you to explain the big picture, not the programming that you are trying to do. Very likely there are much better ways to handle this data.

--
Paige Miller
shrikrishna
Calcite | Level 5

The requirement is that I need all data sorted in specified way (taken care of) in excel file. There is no way around it. people I am sending requirement to like excel format way too much.

10000 usernames are unique, and data cannot be grouped as they need day by day each instance in the file. (Legal requirement)

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26