BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
GypsyElder
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! I am new to sas.

I am trying to read in a character decimal (oldvar = 0.599, ) . and create a  new numeric variable (want=0.599). 

I am unsure which format to use to read the data.

below is sample code I was trying to use, but wouldn't this create character value?

put(input(charvar,best4.),z4.);

This seems to round my decimals up:

input(charvar,best4.);

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Your first statement is creating a CHARACTER variable not a NUMERIC variable.  The PUT() function converts values to strings and the INPUT function converts strings to values.

Your second statement is closer, but the width used in your informat is too short.  '0.599' is 5 characters long.  Note there is not any reason to limit the width you use unless the string has trailing non digits that you want to ignore.  

Also note that there is no "best" informat.  If you use BEST as an informat that is just an alias for the normal numeric informat. Also do NOT specify a decimal part on your informat specification unless your character strings have purposely not included the period for the decimal point and you want SAS to insert one at the appropriate place.

data want;
  set have;
  numvar = input(charvar, 32.);
run;

If the value is PRINTING as an integer then you probably mistaken attached the wrong FORMAT to it.   Perhaps something like the Z4. format in your first example.  That is requesting that the value be rounded to an integer and displayed with exactly four digits even when the values is less than 1,000.