BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Mluna
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I just started learning SAS. I made a library using the code:

%let path2=~/MOP/myData/Testing.xlsx;
options validvarname=v7 ;
libname SAMPLIB XLSX "&path2";

But the excel file sheet is named Sheet1. I know I can go rename the Sheet name in excel and re-run it.

But that created a couple of questions: can just rename the Sheets by adding an option in the code? and can i rename multiple sheets?

Thank you to anyone that could point me in the right direction. I tried looking it through the documentation but I'm having a hard time finding an answer.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Quentin
Super User

The job of the library statement is to create a libref (in your case SAMPLIB) which points to a logical location that holds tables.  That location could be a SQL server database, or a folder, or many other things.  In your case, the location is an Excel file, that likely has one or more sheets.

The screen shot is showing the names of all of the sheets that exist in the Excel file.  If you want to change the names of those sheets, you would need to update the Excel file.  (I can't remember if you can do this from SAS, but regardless, you would be changing the Excel file.)

Typically I don't worry about the names of the sheets in the Excel file (which is often Sheet1, because 95% of Excel users don't even know that an Excel file can have multiple sheets in it), but I will give the data a better name when I read the data into a SAS dataset. 

So my step to read the data into SAS might look like:

data Testing;
  set samplib.Sheet1;
run;

That will create a SAS dataset named TESTING, in the WORK library, which has the data from Sheet1 in Testing.xls.