BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SASuserlot
Barite | Level 11

Hi, I am new to Proc SQL, I would like to know how we can remove the duplicates from dataset and achieve the exactly same thing that I can achieve through the PROC SORT. In my example I want achieve the output exactly  looks like CLASS1 dataset using PROC SQL.  I am trying with sql  but having difficulty to achieve the same., I am able to get age, and sex but not the remaining variable. Can you please let me know what I am doing wrong. Thanks in advance.

data class;
set sashelp.class;
run;

proc sort data= class out= class1 nodupkey; by sex age ; run;

proc sql;
create table clsql as select distinct age,sex
from class  group by age,sex order by age,sex;
quit;

SASuserlot_0-1645127590849.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Here is an SQL approach for the rule I previously described:

proc sql;
  create table want as
  select A.*
  from sashelp.class as A
  inner join
  (select  age
          ,sex 
          ,max(height) as Max_Height
   from sashelp.class
   group by age
           ,sex
  ) as B 
  on A.age = B.age
  and A.sex = B.sex
  and A.height = B.Max_Height
  order by sex, age
  ;
quit;

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ballardw
Super User

Since Proc Sort will create different datasets given a different order of the data I think you need to consider and describe in much more excruciating detail what your real use case may be.

The initial order of the data set in Proc sort with NODUPKEY will affect the result. Here is an example.

data class;
set sashelp.class;
run;

proc sort data= class out= class1 nodupkey; 
   by sex age ; 
run;

proc sort data=class;
   by height;
run;

proc sort data= class out= class2 nodupkey; 
   by sex age ; 
run;

If Class1 and Class2 are the same when you run this code I would be very surprised.