BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Carmen_Miranda
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello! I'm rather new at SAS and I'm a little stumped on how best to do this.

I have the following dataset, called region_input (apologies for using a photo, the data step version SAS macro doesn't work on my SAS due to needing to get github information)

Untitled.png

I want to create a DO loop that takes the value of the Region column at each row, assigns that to a macro variable, and then performs a number of other steps using that macro variable, before moving on to the next row and repeating.
I am having a lot of trouble figuring out how to reference the first row, however. So far I have :

%macro importer;
%do i=1 to 7;
data _null_;
set region_input;
call symput("region_name", Region);
run;
%end;
%mend importer;

But this doesn't work and I am utterly stumped on how to progress, or even really what to search in the help files.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

You want sthg. like this??

data _NULL_;
 if 0 then set work.region_input nobs=count;
 call symput('NumberOfRegions',trim(left(put(count,12.))));
 STOP;
run;
%PUT &=NumberOfRegions;

%macro importer;
 %do i=1 %to &NumberOfRegions.;
data _null_;
 set work.region_input(firstobs=&i. obs=&i.);
 call symputx("region_name", Region);
run;
%PUT &=region_name;
 %end;
%mend  importer;

Koen

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

You want sthg. like this??

data _NULL_;
 if 0 then set work.region_input nobs=count;
 call symput('NumberOfRegions',trim(left(put(count,12.))));
 STOP;
run;
%PUT &=NumberOfRegions;

%macro importer;
 %do i=1 %to &NumberOfRegions.;
data _null_;
 set work.region_input(firstobs=&i. obs=&i.);
 call symputx("region_name", Region);
run;
%PUT &=region_name;
 %end;
%mend  importer;

Koen

Carmen_Miranda
Fluorite | Level 6