BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi all SAS Users,

Normally SAS supports a few hotkeys for us to deal with coding conveniently.  For example, if we want to comment the selection with line comments, we can use 'Ctr+/"

For example:

/*Before hotkey*/

abcdef

/*After hotkey Ctr+ / */

/*abcdef*/

I also google some other useful hotket as the link here.

However, I try to find a hotket that can put words into single quotation marks. In detail

/*Before hotkey*/

abcdef

/*I try to find a hotkey to generate this result */

'abcdef'

I try to simplify my work and learn as much as I can 😄

Warmest regards.

P/S: I did a search but it seems to me that there is no hotkey so far for doing so, need a macro as the link here.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Hi @Phil_NZ,

If you're using the traditional Display Manager interface with the Enhanced Editor, it's fairly easy to create a keyboard macro for this purpose and assign a hotkey. I've just done this, following the general instructions of this 2018 post. Actually, I've created two macros:

Put current word into single quotes (i.e., place the cursor inside or immediately after the word, then hit shortcut key):

quoteword.png

Put selected text (may include several words) into single quotes:

quotesel.png

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

It really depends what editor you are using.  Are you using one of the many SAS interfaces to edit with?  Which one?

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @Tom 

I am using SAS EG. It is my interface

My97_0-1613967821873.png

Warm regards.