BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
stats_auca
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello. I am fairly new to using SAS and I am trying to figure out a way to find the closest hospital for a large number of individuals using their zip code. I am only interested in 10 hospitals and I have exact addresses (and geocoded coordinates) for each hospital as well as  zip codes (with coordinates) for each individual. I then want to create a column of the driving distances in miles using Google maps to the nearest hospital for each individual. Below is a sample of my data (anonymized).

data WORK.HOSPITAL_CLINICS;
infile datalines dsd truncover;
input Name:$33. Street:$28. City:$10. State:$2. Zip:BEST12. Geocoded_Latitude:BEST12. Geocoded_Longitude:BEST12.;
format Zip BEST12. Geocoded_Latitude BEST12. Geocoded_Longitude BEST12.;
datalines;

Hospital name 123 Avenue City ST 55555 XX.XXXXXXXX -XX.XXXXXXXX

data WORK.ZIP_GEOCODE(label='Geocoded 12Jul2023');
infile datalines dsd truncover;
input Y:32. X:32. MSA:32. AREACODE:32. M_OBS:32. _MATCHED_:$16. ID:BEST12. Zip:32.;
format ID BEST12.;
label Y="Geocoded Latitude (DEGREES)" X="Geocoded Longitude (DEGREES)" MSA="Metro Statistical Area code by common pop-pre 2003; no MSA for rural" AREACODE="Single Area Code for ZIP Code.";
datalines;
XX.XXXXXX -XX.XXXXXX X 555 55555 ZIP XX 55555

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Quentin
Super User

Glad the macro works for you. 

I made a small change to the macro when I was testing step 3.  I realized that in your example data you have a LOT of precision for latitude and longitude, more than SAS can maintain in a numeric variable, so I made these variable character.  

The updated macro:

%macro distance
  (patientID=
  ,patientLatitude=
  ,patientLongitude=
  ,hospitalID=
  ,hospitalLatitude=
  ,hospitalLongitude=
  ,out= /*name of output dataset to append to*/
  ) ;