BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jassim
Calcite | Level 5

Hello group.  I am new to SAS and am trying to figure out the best way to split a table into multiple files.  I got the code to select distinct values in a row as well as the count of distinct items in a row.  Ultimately I would like to export all columns related to a unique value in the "make" column into a file with the same name as the "make".  I would like to perform this for each unique "make" in the data set.  For example query SASHELP.CARS and export out all Acura info to the Acura file, Honda info to the Honda file, Chevy info to the Chevy file, etc....

/*counts unique*/
PROC SQL;
SELECT count(distinct(Make)) into :makecount FROM SASHELP.CARS;
quit;
%put &makecount;

/*creates single column table using only unique names*/
proc sql;
Create table Work.query as
select distinct(Make) from SASHELP.CARS;
run;
quit;
9 REPLIES 9
s_lassen
Meteorite | Level 14

You can just use a data step and the FILEVAR option, something like

/* Delete current .csv files, if any */
x 'del mydir\*.csv';

data _null_;
  set sashelp.cars;
  outfile=cats('mydir\',make,'.csv');
  file out filevar=outfile dsd delimiter=';' mod;
  put /* here goes the variable list */;
run;

I do not have SAS on this computer, so I cannot test. But I think it may be necessary (if the input data is not sorted by MAKE) to use the MOD option on the FILE statement, as the output file may otherwise be rewritten each time the OUTFILE variable changes. Which is also why I put in a statement to delete any .csv files in the output directory, as the output would otherwise be added to the files if they exist already. But test it for yourself. Change the "mydir" part to wherever you want the files.

yabwon
Onyx | Level 15
Works great, I've tested it.
I would consider adding "options nonotes;" before datastep and "options notes;" after - for big files with multiple outputs, just to keep the log clean.

All the best
Bart