BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Haemoglobin17
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone!

I am studying the macro 1 course and I am doing the exercise m104p01. Unfortunately, when I run it, the program produces a table of 12 obs, then stops and it give me the two following error messages:

ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.
ERROR: An error occurred while processing text data.

I discovered that the observation the caused this error (that would e the 13th) is one in which the variable name contains an invalid character (I suppose an accent or something like this). As a confirm, If I create a database and I change all the values of name with "Iron Man" it runs perfectly. I was wondering if you know some tricks that helps me to force SAS to accept this special characters. Below you can find the code of the exercise. Thank you all 😁

/* Part b. */
%macro customers(type);
title "&type Customers";
proc sql number;
select Name, Age_Group, Type
from mc1.customers
where Type contains "&type";
quit;
title;
%mend customers;

%customers(Gold)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Either fix the dataset encoding, the SAS session encoding, or tell SAS to ignore the encoding.

from mc1.customers (encoding='any')
    where Type contains "&type"
; 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

It would help (now, and 100% of the time in the future) for you to show us the ENTIRE log for this macro. Please first turn on macro debugging options by running this command:

options mprint symbolgen;

Then, run the macro again, copy the ENTIRE log as text, and paste it into the window that appears when you click on the </> icon. Do NOT show us partial logs.

PaigeMiller_0-1663012019648.png

--
Paige Miller
Haemoglobin17
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi PaigeMiller,