BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Scott177
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I'm very new to SAS programming and I got a requirement to transpose multi variables from the csv file. I found a solution in SAS community through PROC SUMMARY and i somehow manipulated the order of output variables through PROC SQL as per the requirement.
But i would like to know if it's possible to produce this output without manipulation at PROC SQL step.

Version: SAS 9.4

Input Data:

RANK6_CODE|RANK_CODE|RANK_DESC|RANK_KEY

1|467|Sample_Description0|Rank_1

1|120|Sample_Description1|Rank_2

1|456|Sample_Description2|Rank_3

1|778|Sample_Description3|Rank_4

1|780|Sample_Description4|Rank_5

1|402|Sample_Description5|Rank_6

Output Data:

RANK6_CODE|RANK6_DESC|RANK5_CODE|RANK5_DESC|RANK4_CODE|RANK4_DESC|RANK3_CODE|RANK3_DESC|RANK2_CODE|RANK2_DESC|RANK1_CODE|RANK1_DESC
402|Sample_Description5|780|Sample_Description4|778|Sample_Description3|456|Sample_Description2|120|Sample_Description1|467|Sample_Description

Note: I have added the sample values through Datalines as requested. 

Code: 

DATA PROJECT.IMPORT;
INPUT @1 RANK6_CODE RANK_CODE $3-5 RANK_DESC $7-26 RANK_KEY $27-32;
DATALINES;
1 467 Sample_Description0 Rank_1 
1 120 Sample_Description1 Rank_2 
1 456 Sample_Description2 Rank_3 
1 778 Sample_Description3 Rank_4 
1 780 Sample_Description4 Rank_5 
1 402 Sample_Description5 Rank_6 
3 467 Sample_Description0 Rank_1 
3 120 Sample_Description1 Rank_2 
3 456 Sample_Description2 Rank_3 
3 778 Sample_Description3 Rank_4 
3 780 Sample_Description4 Rank_5 
3 402 Sample_Description5 Rank_6
;
RUN;

proc sort data=PROJECT.IMPORT; 
by RANK6_CODE; 
run;

proc summary data=PROJECT.IMPORT; 
CLASS RANK6_CODE; 
OUTPUT OUT=wide(drop=_:)idgroup(out[6](RANK_DESC RANK_CODE )=); 
/*Manually hard coded the number of Rank occurrence to 6*/