BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
NKormanik
Barite | Level 11

What do you folks avoid running (in Windows, 64-bit, 32 gig RAM) while running SAS?

In other words, while running a SAS job, if you do something else at the same time, you will likely get incorrect answers in SAS, or failure of some kind.

Possible examples:

Check your email?

Edit a document in Word?

Work on an Excel spreadsheet?

Watch a YouTube video?

etc.

Any insights appreciated.

Nicholas Kormanik

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

You do not need to be concerned. Computer programs that run in separate processes cannot interfere with each other's "answers." You won't get an incorrect answer or failure because you are running a second program concurrently with SAS. I've been running SAS for 23 years and I have had email, Word, browsers, graphics applications, etc, running at the same time. I have never encountered an error due to running another program.

Now, the PERFORMANCE of SAS can be affected if you are using another program that consumes a lot of RAM or is very CPU intensive. In that situation, the operating system will share resources between SAS and the other program. You might observe that the SAS program takes longer to finish, but you will still get the correct answer.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

You do not need to be concerned. Computer programs that run in separate processes cannot interfere with each other's "answers." You won't get an incorrect answer or failure because you are running a second program concurrently with SAS. I've been running SAS for 23 years and I have had email, Word, browsers, graphics applications, etc, running at the same time. I have never encountered an error due to running another program.