BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Feifeitubies
Calcite | Level 5

Hi guys, i am new in SAS programming and i got stuck in defining macro variable from my code:

/* Program */
/* ========================================================================= */
proc sql;
    select PPI into :T0_PPI_Base from Work.PPI_Base where As_of_date=&T0;
quit;

proc sql;
    select PPI into :T0_PPI_Best from Work.PPI_Best where As_of_date=&T0;
quit;

proc sql;
    select PPI into :T0_PPI_Worst from Work.PPI_Worst where As_of_date=&T0;
quit;

%let T0_PPI_Weighted=%sysevalf(&T0_PPI_Base*0.6+&T0_PPI_Best*0.2+T0_PPI_Worst*0.2);

data A;
    A=T0_PPI_Weighted;
run;

I would like to make a simple calculation T0_PPI_Weighted based on three defined macro variables T0_PPI_Base T0_PPI_Best T0_PPI_Worst

I run my code and get the below error message

ERROR: A character operand was found in the %EVAL function or %IF condition where a numeric operand is required. The condition was: &T0_PPI_Base*0.6+&T0_PPI_Best*0.2+T0_PPI_Worst*0.2

I dont know why it can be ran and i have checked the captioned three variables are all numeric. Most Grateful if anyone could help in advising solution. Many thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Use the "Insert SAS Code" (running man icon) to properly format your code. Use copy and paste from your SAS program window.

No one will try to decipher your unformatted code.

--
Paige Miller
Astounding
PROC Star

You forgot one &.

Take a look at your equation for T0_PPI_Weighted.  You have ampersands before the first two macro variables (correct), but no ampersand before T0_PPI_Worst (incorrect).

**************** EDITED:

Actually, you forgot a second ampersand:

data A;

A = &T0_PPI_Weighted;

run;

Also, consider that you could eliminate macro language entirely.  You could create three tables, each containing a single variable.  Then use a DATA step to bring in the data from those three tables.

Satish_Parida
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Please try the code Bellow