BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Debugger
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi guys,

I already opened two topics where I tried to describe my problem.

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Programming/ERROR-22-322-ERROR-76-322-Macro-Variable-amp-n-genera...

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Programming/Problems-doing-a-loop-in-SAS-Macro/m-p/625390#M184311

As I am a complete newbie to SAS I hope you forgive me that, I strugeled to describe what I actually wanted to achieve and therefore tried to break down my Problem to different steps.

Here the consolidated version of the problem:

I want to compare Table X which contains values that are part of other tables.
E.g. Does table X contain:

Person a which is part of Table A
Person z which is part of Table AX
Person ed which is part of Table SE

I now want to create a SAS Project, that automatically compares table X with its values in the respective other tables as there may be fields in table X that are not used anymore.

My Idea broken down in the different steps was:

1. Creating the macro variables. Which are &n the number of observations, &Joinfeld the field which is necessary to join the tables, &name the  name of the table Table X is referring to.

2. Joining Table X with the respective other tables so that I got table X and a potential empty or filled field from the other tables.

3. Creating a table that consolidates the joined fields in one table.

4. Creating a Macro that automizes step 2 and 3.

Here my code that I wrote and the respective problems in red:

proc sql;
select count(*) into :n
from table X;
%let n=&n;
Quit;

proc SQL;
Select distinct NAME into :name1 -
from table x;
Quit;
Proc SQL;
select distinct Tabellenname into :Joinfeld1 -
from table X;
Quit;

Problem: How do I create &n, &name and &Joinfeld, so that they are enumerated, as in my opinion I need this to do the loop of in the macro !?
Is there any other way, that the macro can detect, that Number 1 of table X is done and goes on to number 2 and so forth?