BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Zarinasa2003
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for reading my question. I am brand new! I only started learning SAS today and even worse I have a tight deadline. 

I have some code that replicates Kenneth French’s industry portfolios!

My problem is I need this adapting so that it can be run with a different dataset.

I have data in excel:

DATE: INDUSTRY: COMPANY NAME: RETURN: MARKET CAP

Likewise to the above data I would like value weighted returns that are rebalanced every June.

I think this isn’t such as difficult task but the problem I am having is that I am very new to SAS so any advice on how I could do this would be appreciated.

Here is the link to the SAS code that I believe does this already. By problem is that I have different data in the above format.

https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/pages/support/research-wrds/research-guides/procedures-using-fama...

3 REPLIES 3
Reeza
Super User

Do you have access to WRDS? In this situation, the best method to get it working as fast as possible is to work with the demo and ensure you can get that working and understand it.

Then, rather than modify the code, modify your input data set to match the input data set for the example by restructuring and renaming as necessary and then using that code. 

@Zarinasa2003 wrote:

Thank you for reading my question. I am brand new! I only started learning SAS today and even worse I have a tight deadline. 

I have some code that replicates Kenneth French’s industry portfolios!

My problem is I need this adapting so that it can be run with a different dataset.

I have data in excel:

DATE: INDUSTRY: COMPANY NAME: RETURN: MARKET CAP

Likewise to the above data I would like value weighted returns that are rebalanced every June.

I think this isn’t such as difficult task but the problem I am having is that I am very new to SAS so any advice on how I could do this would be appreciated.