BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Mamacle
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am a beginner in SAS. I have a dataset with stock prices quoted in seconds during10 days. I need to compute the return of the stock for every minute of the day. To do so I need to use the last price quoted for every minute. I used the following commands to compute the returns for each second

data return;

set data;

return=log(price/lag(price));

run;

My dataset looks like this:

date                              time                 price

01MAY2012                 8:02:01          1.101

01MAY2012                 8:02:15          1.258

01MAY2012                 8:02:29            .

01MAY2012                 8:02:48          1.100

01MAY2012                 8:04:04          1.225

01MAY2012                 8:05:01          1.001

01MAY2012                 8.44.00          1.225

I am struggling to compute the return of the stock for every minute using the last price available for each minute. Any idea in how to do this? Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Check your input date and time variables. My code assumes that they are proper SAS date and proper SAS time values. If they are anything else, such as character or SAS datetime, the code will have to account for that.

PG

PG

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Reeza
Super User

Step 1 - Convert time to minute. Since time variables are stored in seconds you could divide by 60 and floor the number. Or you could use an appropriate time format.

Step 2 - Sort by Stock and minute

Step 3 - Use BY processing and take the last of each minute. So By stock minute; if last.minute;

Mamacle
Calcite | Level 5

Reeza thank you so much for your help since I am a beginner and I was not sure how to divide the time variables by 60 and floor the number I attempted PG's approach.