BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I'm taking over an application from a programmer that got a new job. I have limited sas experience. I have searched the web and this forum and downloaded the "Base SAS 9.1.3 Procedures Guide", but so far I haven't answered my own question yet. Still working that learning curve.

The application that I'm taking over produces a large fixed format file and generates a set of sas commands to import the data file. Both files are for the users, who use sas. As the developer, I'm not given a copy of sas (where's Dilbert?). Anyway, here is a sample of the sas file:

infile
'a:0000013401.dat'
lrecl=87;
input
@1 p_user_id $9.
@11 p_user_type $1.
@13 p_cycle $6.
@20 p_error_code $4.
@25 p_record_count $3.
@29 rec_format $3.
@33 acct_cd $1.
@35 balance_amt 17.
@53 trans_cmptr 17.
@71 unassgn_amt 17.
;
run;

I have a couple, probably very basic, questions.

The sas file identifies the input file as "a:...", but the users don't use floppy drives anymore. Is it ok to change the a: to a relative reference (".\0000013401.dat'")?

The amount fields are 17 digits long. This is the format on our corporate database, so I can't change that. On particularly large amounts (those that use all 17 digits), sas converts the number to scientific notation (3.6E+17 or something similar). Is there a way to get sas to support all 17 digits without kicking into scientific mode?

Thanks in advance,
Darren
1 REPLY 1
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
The INFILE statement references a drive letter notation so it must be "mapped" somehow on the system where this application runs -- therfore it would not be appropriate to simply change the reference without adjusting the mapping, correct?

Regarding notation, have a look at the SAS FORMAT statement, either defined for the DATA step or with a PROC step.

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.

sas-innovate-2024.png