BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
yonib
SAS Employee
Hi ,
this is my first time im using proc report....
my problem is this:

my data for example is:
data a;
length zip $ 5 cty $ 8 varr $ 10;
input zip $ cty $ varr $ sales cost;
label zip="Zip Code"
cty="country"
varr="variety"
sales="monthly sales";
datalines;

52423 Scott Merlot 186 35
52423 Scott Chardonnay 156.61 33
52423 Scott Zinfandel 35.5 38
52423 Scott Merlot 55.3 90
52388 Scott Merlot 122.89 80
52388 Scott Chardonnay 78.22 90
52388 Scott Zinfandel 15.4 12
52200 Adams Merlot 385.51 120
52200 Adams Chardonnay 246 167
52200 Adams Zinfandel 151.1 180
52200 Adams Chardonnay 76.24 190
52199 Adams Merlot 233.03 175
52199 Adams Chardonnay 185.22 155
;
run;

im trying to create a new column that divide sales with cost

proc report data=a;
title sample10;
column cty zip varr,(sales cost example);

define cty/group width=9 'country/name';
define zip/group 'îé÷åã';
define varr/across 'variety';
define sales/sum format=6.2 'ñëåí îëéøåú';
define example/computed;

compute example;
example=sales/cost;
endcomp;
run;
then new column is getting in all the rows null.
can someone please explain me how to do it (if its possible with this example)?

Thanks in advance
4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
If you had a simple column statement with NO across usage variables like this, then the compute block would be simple:
[pre]
column region subsidiary product sales returns calc_col;
... more code ...
compute calc_col;
calc_col = divide(sales.sum,returns.sum);
endcomp;
[/pre]

In the above scenario, there is no ambiguity about how sales and returns are being used to create the new report item, CALC_COL. All you have to do is use the expected compound name (assuming that SALES and RETURNS both have a usage of SUM and CALC_COL has a usage of COMPUTED.