BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm new to SAS macros, but have been trying to follow the logics of the program that I have.

Apparently, the program itself is made up of macros, and it creates a lot of temporary variables.

My question is....can I use proc print to generate a report that shows the values of temporary variables? Normally, when I do proc print, and use the "VAR" statement, it only allows me to choose column names that are in the original dataset columns.

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Have you tried running the program with options mprint or mlogic set instead?

Otherwise you'll need to include some explicit %put &my_mvar at different stages to check what you need.

options mprint mlogic;

/*run your code*/

SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

thank you for the reply, however, I am creating a new post to describe my problem at bit more clearly.

Astounding
PROC Star

The simple version:

%put _user_;

That's a short-cut that displays all the macro variables you have created, but omits the automatic macro variables that the software creates for you.  You don't get control like you would with a VAR statement in PROC PRINT.

If you want to see the automatic variables, you can use:

%put _automatic_;

Or if you just want all of them, there's:

%put _all_;

There are one or two more possibilities, but you're most likely looking for the first version (_user_).

Good luck.

SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

thank you for the reply, however, I am creating a new post to describe my problem at bit more clearly.

JasonDiVirgilio
Quartz | Level 8

Options  symbolgen;

...is helpful too when you want the macro var resolution to go to your log without having to do %put statements.

SeekYourWay
Calcite | Level 5

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.