BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
michele
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everybody! I am new here, I am a doctor and I use SAS to perform basic stat analysis. Right now I am having trouble editing a dataset, I am not sure how to solve the problem but I know there must be an easy way to do it, so I am asking for your help Smiley Happy

This is a sample of my dataset

id      exam1      exam2    exam3        exam4

1       1999        2007      2003          2000

2       2009        1985      2004          2001 

3       2000        2001      2002          2003

What I want to do: to create a new variable 'firstexam' in which i have the name of the first exam and not the actual date

my new dataset should be like this:

id   ...   firstexam

1          exam1

2          exam2

3          exam1

if i use the min function I get

id   ...    firstexam

1             1999

2             1985

3             2000

I know I could do it with a bunch of 'if' and 'then' but the editor would be so long and ugly.. I am sure there is an easier way to get the job done...

Thanks a lot!

5 REPLIES 5
MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

Hi Michele,

I haven't tested this but I think it might be what you are after... use the vname function around your min function...

firstexam = vname(min(exam1, exam2, exam3, exam4));

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrdict/64316/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a000202943.htm

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

Michelle

//Contact me to learn how Metacoda software can help keep your SAS platform secure - https://www.metacoda.com
art297
Opal | Level 21

I think you are looking for something like:

data have;

input id      exam1      exam2    exam3        exam4;

array years(*) exam1-exam4;

firstexam=vname(years[whichn(min(of years(*)), of years

• )]);
  •   cards;

1       1999        2007      2003          2000

2       2009        1985      2004          2001

3       2000        2001      2002          2003

;

run;

proc print;

run;

Howles
    Quartz | Level 8