BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
tnmahmoo
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I hope you are doing well.

I would like to request some of your time to help me with a note message that might be a problem, but I cannot resolve the message after hours of researching.

Note message is “variable is uninitialized”.

The SAS program package I am working on is from the Dietary Screener Questionnaire that was provided by NIH cancer institute.

I am very new to SAS and I have been using online resources plus this community forum to help me get this far in the coding.

I attached the content as a word doc because I wanted to give you as much detail as possible to understand where I need help in the coding. I hope you can open it. If not, please let me know.

Please help me figure out how to resolve the note message. I really appreciate your time and efforts in helping me, thank you!

9 REPLIES 9
SASKiwi
PROC Star

The variable is uninitialized SAS note indicates that this variable contains no data - the variable is not populated with non-missing data in any row. You can prove this for yourself by running the following program (please put your actual dataset and variable name in this code before running):

proc freq data = have;
  table VarAllMissing / missing;
run;

PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Those variables (hccerxpd, milkxpd, etc.) are not present in your SBMDdata dataset. To get a list of the variables in the dataset :

proc contents data=SBMDdata; run;
PG
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Hi and welcome!

Please post code in a window opened with the "little running man" icon, and logs and/or external data from text files in a window opened with the {i} icon.

This makes it immediately visible and does away with the need to load Office files from the intenet. Many of us can't or won't do that for security reasons.

Your date step code either

• tries to use a variable that is not present in one of the input datasets