BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ks94
Obsidian | Level 7

hello , 

Please i need your help for a problem. I want to change the type of variables (numeric to character).

I have a numeric variable that I want to change to a character. Thank you for helping me please.
I'm a beginner in SAS. If you want i can put the type file .

15 REPLIES 15
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You can't change the type of a variable.

You can create a new variable that is character from a numeric variable. You can use any format that works. Here is an example using the format 8.

char_var=put(numeric_var,8.);
--
Paige Miller
ks94
Obsidian | Level 7

THANKS YOU BUT can you give me the inverse method ? 

thanks!

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@ks94 wrote:

THANKS YOU BUT can you give me the inverse method ?

You asked for creating character from numeric. That's what I gave you. Now you say you want the inverse? Please clarify, which is it?

--
Paige Miller
ks94
Obsidian | Level 7
change type of variable character to numeric
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

How did you create variables?  All you showed as a text file.  Everything in a text file is character.  When you read the values you can decide what type of variable you create.

If you read it with PROC IMPORT then that proc will have to guess how to define the variable based on the example values it sees in this one data file.

But if you write your own data step to read it you get to define the variables.  It you don't make any attempt to define them then they will all be numbers.  If you define the type and length with a LENGTH statement first then the INPUT statement can be simpler.

data want;
  infile 'c:\downloads\Data_projet_AFRIQUE2.txt' dsd dlm=';' firstobs=2 truncover;
  length
    case $10 cc3 $30 country $8
    year systemic_crisis exch_usd 
    domestic_debt_in_default 
    sovereign_external_debt_default
    gdp_weighted_default
    inflation_annual_cpi
    independence
    currency_crises
    inflation_crises 8