BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
hatsumi
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I'm a beginner studying with SAS certification prep guide textbook for Base Programming for SAS9 exam.

After reading textbook several times, there are some codes that I don't quite understand their usages, so it would be very helpful if someone could interpret codes in bold characters in a normal language to help me understand their meanings more fully.

I provided my interpretation of codes on the right hand-side whenever I think I understood them.

Chapter 7 pp241 (Creating and applying user defined formats)

libname library 'c:\sas\formats\lib';                                        Create a libname library to a specified lotion where the format catalog will be stored???

proc format library=library fmtlib;                                          

run;

Also, (proc format library=) and (proc format lib=) have the exact same meaning?

Chapter 11 pp339 (usage of the FIRST and LAST observation in a group)

proc sort data=company.usa out=work.temp;                         Sort data in a file usa by a variable dept and create a temporary file temp         

by dept;

run;

data company.budget (keep=dept payroll);                              Create a data file called budget under libref company and keep a variable dept and payroll

set work.temp;                                                                 Read data from a temporary file called temp

by dept;                                                                           Group data by a variable dept

if wagecat='S' then Yearly=wagerate*12;                             If variable wagecat equals S, then place calculation result of wagerate multiplied by 12 in Yearly

else if wagecat='H' then Yearly=wagerate*2000;                   If variable wagecat equals H, then place calculation result of wagerate multiplied by 2000 in Yearly

if first.dept then payroll=0;

payroll+yearly;