BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jjoy4891
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

i am very new to SAS , and am stuck with some basic concept like using arbitrary variable for merging data sets > Could some one please explain the logic for the same.

Data Num2;
Set Num;
i = 1; *Create an arbitrary variable for merging purpose;
Run;

proc means data=num2 noprint;
Var Rnumber;
By i;
Output out=stat mean=mean std=std;
run;

Data Zscore;
Merge Num2 Stat;
By i;
Zscore = (Rnumber - Mean)/std;
Run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Apparently, this program was written by someone who is just slightly more advanced than you are.  The real problem is to get the MEAN and STD appended to each observation, to support Z score calculations.  This can be done in several ways, none of which involve creating an arbitrary variable for merging.  Here is the way that most closely resembles the existing program.  Begin with:

proc means data=num noprint;
   var Rnumber;
   output out=stat mean=mean std=std;
run;

At this point, you might want to examine the results since you could use some familiarity with what the program does.  Then continue with:

data zscore;
   if _n_=1 then set stat (keep=mean std);
   set num;
   zscore = (Rnumber - mean) / std;
run;

There are several other ways to accomplish this task (SQL, macro language, even a SAS procedure that standardizes variables).  But this is the way that is closest to your existing program.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Astounding
PROC Star