BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dio
Calcite | Level 5 dio
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

i am a SAS beginner and my issue is the following: I have a long list of words and associated values (e.g., frequency in spoken language) in one dataset (Word_List) and another even longer dataset consisting of phrases(Phrase_List). I have to check whether each of the words from Word_List appears in each of the phrases in Phrase_List. If found, then the phrase is assigned the value of the word found.

So far, I have only managed to do this for single words in the Phrase_List dataset using INDEXW. However, i would need tips on how to do this automatically from one dataset to the other.

My code for single word search:

data ref.phrase_score;

set ref.phrase_list;

score=0;

found=indexw(phrase,"able");

if found=0 then delete;

else score+3.56;

keep phrase_ID phrase found score;

run;

I would really appreciate tips on how to do this automatically for all words from the list and using these two separate files.

Thanks,

Dan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Then it is quite simple to do (if you don't need to count multiple occurences) :

data phrases;
length phrase $200; /* longer, if needed */
input;
phrase = trim(lowcase(_infile_));
datalines;
i feel at my best because i have been working on important goals for the past three days, and i've been able to complete them
i feel a bit disappointed that i wasn't as eager about it as everyone else but it was the best book i've read at least
i just hope we get to fix our relationship as best friends, it just takes a little bit of courage
;

data words;
length word $16;
input word score;
word = lowcase(word);
datalines;
able 5.89
best 6.76
courage 6.30
;

proc sql;
create table scores as
select phrase, sum((indexw(phrase, word)>0)*score) as phraseScore
from phrases, words
group by phrase;