BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
M_K
Calcite | Level 5 M_K
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am very new to SAS and i have some basic questions.

• If i have only SAS Base, can I perform basic procedures like - PROC REG, PROC FACTOR, PROC RANK, PROC MI, PROC IMPORT, PROC EXPORT, PROC MEAN???
  • Or do I need to have SAS STAT for some of these???
  • Are there any limitations if I use SAS Base for these procedures???

Regards,

MK

5 REPLIES 5
Ksharp
Super User

You can use PROC RANK,  PROC IMPORT, PROC EXPORT, PROC MEAN

they are included in Base.

But PROC MI,PROC REG, PROC FACTOR, maybe you need SAS/Stat model.

M_K
Calcite | Level 5 M_K
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for your reply, Ksharp!!!

Well, I can run PROC MI, PROC REF, PROC FACTOR even when i dont have SAS STAT. But i just wanted to know if there are any limitations using these procedures in SAS Base and not in SAS STAT; by limitations i mean, time required to run, accuracy, no. of variables that can be used, options available in these procedures, etc. Please let me know.

art297
Opal | Level 21

If you can run them I would guess that you DO have them licensed.  Run the statements:

proc setinit;

run;

It will show you a list of the products you do have licensed.  As far as I know, trying to run procs you don't have licensed, simply returns an error.

Ksharp
Super User

As Art said. Try to use

proc setinit;

run;

to see whether you have STAT already.

Once you can run proc reg, that is to say there should not be limitation you worry about .

Ksharp

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

In addition to the procedures mentioned by Ksharp, the CORR, UNIVARIATE, and FREQ procedures are statistical procedures that are distributed with Base SAS.

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.

Pre-conference courses and tutorials are filling up fast and are always a sellout. Register today to reserve your seat.