BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kthenaj
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello SAS community,

First, I want to say how grateful I am to find this discussion board. I think it is so valuable there is a community of people who are willing to help one another with their SAS programming questions and I want to thank anyone in advance who comments and replies. I hope one day I am a good enough SAS programmer to return the favor and help others.

My goal is to take a dataset of multiple variables and find how many times unique combinations of pairs of variables exist in the dataset. First, I created a fake dataset with three variables called y1, y2, y3. Then, I have a macro that uses proc freq on each pair of combinations. The last step is to combine the frequencies (and convert it to a fraction) into one data set with the original variables.

Here is my SAS program:

data test_data;

do i = 1 to 10;

cod = i;

call streaminit(123);

u1 = rand("Uniform");

y1 = ceil(5*u1);

call streaminit(456);

u2 = rand("Uniform");

y2 = ceil(5*u2);

call streaminit(789);

u3 = rand("Uniform");

y3 = ceil(5*u3);

output;

end;

drop u1 u2 u3 i;

run;

/*proc print data = test_data; run;*/

%macro pairedfreqs(dataset, order, k, vars);

proc freq data = &dataset order=data noprint;

tables y1*y2/ out = pfreq1 list nopct nocum;

run;

proc freq data = &dataset order=data noprint;

tables y1*y3/ out = pfreq2 list nopct nocum;

run;

proc freq data= &dataset order=data noprint;

tables y2*y3/ out = pfreq3 list nopct nocum;

run;

%do i=1 %to &k;

proc sort data=&dataset;

by %scan(&vars,&i);

run;

proc sort data=pfreq&i;

by %scan(&vars,&i);

run;

data f&i(drop=count percent);

merge &dataset pfreq&i;

by %scan(&vars,&i);

pfreq&i=percent/100;

run;

proc sort;

by ℴ

run;

%end;

data all_freqs;

merge %do i=1 %to &k; f&i %end;;

by ℴ

run;

%mend;