BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Thoney
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I have never used this forum before so just wanted to firstly introduce myself, but also apologise in case I have accidentally broken any forum rules or asked a question that has already been answered!

Basically I am quite new to SAS and still in the learning beginner phase. Imagine for example I have a record set where I have account numbers that may or may not appear more than once, and a second column with Dates in. Using Proc SQL, (or any other method you see fit) how would I keep only account numbers with the maximum date for each account number? So for each unique account number in column a, keep only the record containing the highest date value in column b. My experience is mainly in VBA, so understanding a simple step like this might help me to come across to the syntax of SAS, as all I'm thinking about right now is some sort of For Each statement!

Many thanks in advance,

Tom.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Welcome to the Forum. This will create a new dataset of all records where the date is the latest date for an account number (it can be many records if the latest date appears more than once) :

proc sql;

create table lastDates as

select *

from myDataSet

group by actNumber

having date=max(date);

quit;

PG

PG

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Welcome to the Forum. This will create a new dataset of all records where the date is the latest date for an account number (it can be many records if the latest date appears more than once) :

proc sql;

create table lastDates as

select *

from myDataSet

group by actNumber

having date=max(date);

quit;

PG

PG
Linlin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Below is a sample code.

data have;

input account date mmddyy10.;

format date mmddyy10.;

cards;