BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
stuart753
Calcite | Level 5

I have a dataset with client information and I want to draw a sample for each client and load that sample to a separate dataset.  The sample size varies by client.  Below is the code I'm using to do this. (I'm still new to SAS and I got help on the macro portion of this code.  It was derived from: http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi26/p093-26.pdf )

My question relates to the WHERE filter in the query that INSERTS INTO the sample dataset.  The WHERE clause is: 'WHERE zClientName = "&VAR1" AND ranuni(101) <= &VAR2/&VAR3;'.  This method of capturing a sample usually does not produce a sample size that exactly equals the desired sample size.  (VAR2 in this case)  It gives a sample size that's close, but not exactly equal to VAR2.  I have a few questions related to this:

1. Can someone provide guidance on the best approach to create a sample that equals the target sample size (in this case VAR2)?  (As a side note, I'm not a statistician so I really don't know the impact of generating a sample of 189 observations when 200 was requested.  Maybe it's not a significant issue??)
  2. I noticed that if I rerun the code below (which should create a new dataset) - my sample size is not changing?  I would have thought that if I applied a truly random filter to the total population, that the sample size would change from one run to the next.  Does anyone know what would cause this?

For question #1 above, I attempted the following SQL Statement in the macro loop below after adding a SAS_Rand field to wpss.ttWPSS:

proc sql INOBS = &VAR2;

INSERT INTO wpss.ttWPSS

SELECT *, ranuni(101) AS SAS_Rand from UCMdb.ttWPSS

WHERE zClientName = "&VAR1"

ORDER BY SAS_Rand;

quit;

The problem with this is SAS throws a syntax error (22-322) with the ORDER BY clause.  I'm thinking possibly ANSI standard doesn't allow an ordered set to be inserted into a table?  - but I'm not sure.

I appreciate any insight on this.

Thanks,

Stuart