BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
My goal is to develop a model with proc reg using both categorical (such as gender) and and continuous variables (such as age) to predict a continuous outcome (such as profit). Can proc reg do this? If not what can? If it can, do I specify which ones are categorical? Lastly, I also have a zipcode predictor which can take on 10 values, how do I change this into a binary predictor for regression?

Sorry if these questions are obvious, I'm still learning how to navigate SAS documentation.

-Thanks
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

PROC REG does not support categorical predictors directly. You have to recode them into a series of 0-1 values and use them in the model. A two-level categorical variable (like gender) becomes a simple 0-1 recode and then treated as continuous. A three-level categorical variable becomes two variables, etc.

This is analogous to the reference cell recoding that can be used in PROC GLM for categorical variables. The place that it falls down is that if you use the variable selection tools in REG, then you can end up with the situation of part of a variable in the model.

@Paige agrees:

I would use PROC GLM instead of PROC REG. Your predictor variables that are categories (gender, zip) are placed in the CLASS statement.

Also consider GLMSELECT procedure.   It fills the gap of allowing variable selection with CLASS variables. It also produces output that allow further analyses with REG and/or GLM.  GLMSELECT treats a class variable as a single multi-degree of freedom test for inclusion/exclusion. Either all levels are in or all levels are out; it's not a piecemeal process.

@Paige points out: