BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
iiibbb
Quartz | Level 8

I've checked the archives and can't find the correct combination of clues for my problem...

I am relatively new to reading data directly from Excel and dbf files.  I imported a dbf into a sas library and the date is formatted as for example, 06/04/13.  Normally when I import SAS converts it to the integer automatically, but this time for whatever reason it has retained the mmddyy10. format.  How do I reformat it to the simple integer value for a sas date?

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6
sassharp
Calcite | Level 5

try this

data required;

set yourSASdatasetname;

newdate=input(substr(strip(olddate),1,10),mmddyy10.);

run;

https://communities.sas.com/thread/32969?start=0&tstart=0

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I see two choices.

1) SAS did import it as a date and has just assigned a different format than you are used to.

2) SAS imported the variable as a character string. In which case you can use INPUT() function to create a new variable that is an actual date variable.

Here is a simple test that will help you tell which it is.

data _null_;

set MYDATA ;

put datevar= / datevar= best12. / datevar=date9. ;

run;

If it is a date then you will get something like this:

datevar=06/04/13

datevar=19513

datevar=04JUN2013

If it is character you will get

NOTE 484-185: Format $DATE was not found or could not be loaded.

datevar=06/04/13

datevar=06/04/13

datevar=06/04/13

iiibbb
Quartz | Level 8

The code withe the back slashes in it didn't do anything.

I know It is a date format because when I right-click the column in SAS explorer, it is listed as format mmddyy8. and informat yymmdd8..

Also when I prob print with a format statement I can get it to change the output form.

Alternatively, one could suggest how to merge a date formatted as above, and a time column formatted as character 04:46:56pm and output as a datetime integer.  That's really where I'm going with this.

iiibbb
Quartz | Level 8