BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
NVhealth
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Everyone,

Is there a way to rename a library that has already been brought into SAS so that you only rename the library once at the beginning of your PROC SQL procedure?  I know you can use libname when you name your library, but I'm looking to take an existing library already named and rename it once.

Is this possible?

Thank you for any help or suggestions.

5 REPLIES 5
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

The libname is the same as schema/database in a RDBMS. Renaming it doesn't make any sense as it a physical defined unit for the logical collection.

You must have some logical question to solve asking this.

There is something SAS is behaving different with libnames. Concat is possible, that is having a nice approach for catalog and other sas types needing a DTAP segregation.

---->-- ja karman --<-----
NVhealth
Calcite | Level 5

I'm very new to SAS and so I am not as familiar with the right phrasing for things.

The issue that I am having is when I share code between a co-worker and myself.  He uses a different libname for the same database source than I use.  Instead of bringing the same database source in twice (using libname for my naming convention and another libname for his) I thought there must be an easier way to just take the libname, call it into my procedure at the beginning, and only need to rename it in one spot.  I hate doing a search and replace for the library within the code.  Seems inefficient.  I don't like the libnames that he uses because they don't mean as much to me when I'm coding because the two libraries are very different with what I pull from them.

Is that a better clarification?

=========

I found the answer.  I used a macro:

%Let NewDB = OldDB;

----------------

Then in my proc sql procedure under From I did

From

&NewDB..First_Name  (the ampersand and the two periods were essential to get it to read the macro)