BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Puertorekinsam
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

(I should preface this with I am a self taught programmer that has moved from VBA to SQL to ActionScript to .net and now to SAS as my work has required. I have no formal training in programing, so most of what I've done is based on how I've learned to do it hunting through the internet... many times I find that what I want to do is easy, but I'm not great at articulating to Google what I'm trying to do )

I am using Enterprise Guide 7.15 HF2 64bit

I have a large set of data, but I want to create PDFs of charts from the  data that are specific to certain subsets of the data. These graphical outputs are generally the same (same layout, same design, but different data, different labels, and different colors). These outputs are also going to potentially change over time since we are building a new reporting suite and will be going through a test and adjust period with my clients.

In other coding languages, I would set a few parameters, pass them into the "main" code, output the pdf, and repeat.

I tried this by setting up four short programs with code like the following

%let WhichSite = 'WAK';
%let LightColor=vigy;
%let DarkColor=Green;

or

%let WhichSite = 'WST';
%let LightColor= LIOY ;
%let DarkColor=GOLD;

I then had another larger program that contains 31 separate PROCS (8 PROC SQL, 9 PROC SGPLOT, 12 PROC GSLIDES, 2 PROC GREPLAY)  to create the PDF outputs based upon the three macro variables I pass in.

If I manually run the code I can get the output I want. But I can't add the larger code group to the ordered list more than once. Likewise, If I set up multiple ordered list, one for each site (set the variables, run the main code, export the pdf) it will only do it for the first data set.