BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jcm105
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I am fairly new to SAS

I am trying to run a regression on varaibles averaged from yearly data.  My SAS file imports a excel CSV in the following format:

YEAR    COUNTRY    GDP

1991     A                   100

1991     B                   200

1991     C                   300

1992     A                   150

1992     B                   250

1992     C                   350 

1993     A                   200

1993     B                   300

1993     C                   400

And so on.  Is there a way to average the variable GDP for a particular country over the various years?  Without the averages my observations read is very high = 2000+ and In doing averages I would like to limit it my observations to the number of countries in my data set = 77.  Any help is appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Now you're mentioning more variables that need to be averaged...

This is extensible:

proc summary data=have nway;
   class country;
   var gdp;  /*<= put all of the variables you want averaged */
   output out=summary mean=;

run;

This will give a data set with one record per country, value for country and the means of all of the variables that you specify on the VAR line. And the way this code works the name of the variable stays the same.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ballardw
Super User

Averaging by the country, which I have to assume means ignore the year given your example data&colon;

class country;

var gdp;

run;

What is the analysis question you are trying to answer? I'm not sure that the summary would be desireable based for many purposes.

And 2000 records isn't really that many to turn SAS Prog Reg or similar procedures loose on.

Jcm105
Fluorite | Level 6