BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
lizzy28
Quartz | Level 8

Hi everyone,

I am trying to read tables stored in sql server in SAS (configuration has been set up). This is my very first time to read files in the configuration setting. I set the library by the following statement:

libname sql odbc dsn=’sqldb’;

Then I checked what files in the library "sql":

proc sql;

connect to odbc(dsn=’sqldb’);

create table test as select * from connection to odbc (ODBC::SQLTables);                                                              

quit;

proc contents data=test;

run;

I can see tables and views in the temporary file ‘test’. But when I tried to set a table based on the file ‘table1’ in the "sql" library, it says there is no such file.

data new;

set sql.table1;

run;

Did I read the file from SQL server in SAS in a right way? Please suggest!

Millions of thanks.

Lizi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Most likely you need schema=dbo in your libname statement, or the appropriate schema:

libname sql odbc dsn=’sqldb’ schema=dbo;

The reason test works is that it uses pass through SQL, not your libname connection.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Most likely you need schema=dbo in your libname statement, or the appropriate schema:

libname sql odbc dsn=’sqldb’ schema=dbo;

The reason test works is that it uses pass through SQL, not your libname connection.

lizzy28
Quartz | Level 8

Thanks, Reeza.

Adding schema=dbo does not make it work, although the statement "libname sql odbc dsn=’sqldb’ schema=dbo;" worked fine.

Also, I cannot see any files in the "sql" library" through the SAS explorer. Is it the way supposed to be?

Thanks again!

lizzy28
Quartz | Level 8

Anyone has any other suggestion? Thanks.

Reeza
Super User

You should see them under the library.