BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Help please! I am a novice trying to transpose long/tall to short/wide....I am merging a relational database that came from Microsoft Access. Many of the tables, but not all, have duplicate/multiple observations. How can I easily merge and then transpose all the tables? I just want one StudyID, for example, per subject.

I transposed every single variable of all the tables individually and I wound up with such a ridiculously wide data set (with the correct number of observations, however)....
BUT many of the new variables created in the process of 'transpose' are blank or just repeated values.

Any ideas?
3 REPLIES 3
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Share some of your PROC TRANSPOSE code. And if you can share a data sample of exactly what you have for INPUT layout and how you expect it to be rendered by PROC TRANSPOSE (considering the possible companion statements and/or parameters), that would go a long way with helping you in your quest for more effective "transposed" data.

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
In addition to Steve's request for more detail to your question, I'll make some general observations. I infer you are working with clinical research data.

The request for easy is a nonstarter, it ain't gonna be easy. It's not particularly hard, but I would not call it easy.