BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kbry1180
Calcite | Level 5

Im new to SAS and I am trying to do something fairly simple.  I want to create a deck of playing cards and shuffle that deck.  Then I want to produce 5 card poker hands and find the probabilities of producing certain hands (eg flush, straight flush, etc.)

14 REPLIES 14
ballardw
Super User

With or without draw?

Or Texas Hold-em?

Or other version, Dr Pepper perhaps?

PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

have you given any thought to what kind of poker is played or do you just want to draw 5 cards eg from a deck and see what hand you have?

kbry1180
Calcite | Level 5
I am considering doing probabilities across different games. Perhaps run simulations using 5 card stud rules, 5 card (single draw), and seven card stud.
Ksharp
Super User

Calling @Rick_SAS

Check RANDPERK() in IML .

Check Rick's blog. there are many blogs about it .

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Other references include

Simulate Blackjack: https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-IML-File-Exchange/Simulating-a-Blackjack-Game/ta-p/289668

and

Value of Poker Hands:https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Procedures/Allocating-Values-to-Poker-Hands/m-p/146459#M38870

My personal view: This project is not particularly simple. If you are just looking for a project to get started in SAS, there are simpler simulations. For example, craps and blackjack have simpler rules. You can simulate craps in about 20-30 lines of SAS code. For a first project, you might even try to simulate a game related to flipping coins. Good luck!

kbry1180
Calcite | Level 5