BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rluo0810
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everybody,

I'm pretty new to SAS, studying Proc Sql stuff right now. I have came up with the code below,

proc sql;

select customer_firstname, customer_lastname

from orion.customer_dim

where 'F' in (select gender

from orion.customer);

quit;

Why would this return every result within the customer_dim table regardless of 'M' or 'F'? I understand that an equal sign can't be used, since the subquery returns multiple results. I also understand that I could write a 'WHERE gender = 'F'' within the subquery, but why will this not work? I'm really looking for an explanation as to why the logic fails here, is it because a 'F' character constant cannot be used with the operator 'In'? I know that you can use character constant with comparison operator like the "=" sign.

Thanks!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Your WHERE statement asks the question: is the gender F in table CUSTOMER - this is always true. Since it is always true your SELECT reads all rows from CUSTOMER_DIM.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

What your query is missing is a correlation between the main query and the subquery. Assuming customer_firstname and customer_lastname columns exist in both tables, try

proc sql;

select customer_firstname, customer_lastname

from orion.customer_dim as a

where 'F' in (select gender

from orion.customer

where customer_firstname = a.customer_firstname and customer_lastname=a.customer_lastname);

quit;

PG

PG
acemanhattan
Quartz | Level 8

@PGStats,

I'm familiar with using the "as" operator in the following two ways:

proc sql;

create table created_table as

select k.complicated_variable as variable

from other_table k

quit;