BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thnkgreen
Calcite | Level 5

Hello.  I am an absolute beginner with SAS.  I am trying to re-write a section of SAS code to the MS Access SQL equivalent.  Please, will someone explain to me what this code is doing and what the SQL equivalent would be.  Thank you so much Smiley Happy

DATA TEMP_PAYMENT_2;

SET TEMP_PAYMENT_1;

BY DSCNMBR ICASSUF ICASTYPE MSACOMP DCSPOL DCSCERT DESCENDING DCSADD;

IF FIRST.DSCNMBR AND FIRST.ICASSUF AND FIRST.ICASTYPE AND FIRST.MSACOMP AND FIRST.DCSPOL

! AND FIRST.DCSCERT;

RUN;

10 REPLIES 10
Reeza
Super User

Equivalent SAS code:

DATA TEMP_PAYMENT_2;

SET TEMP_PAYMENT_1;

BY DSCNMBR ICASSUF ICASTYPE MSACOMP DCSPOL DCSCERT DESCENDING DCSADD;

IF FIRST.DCSCERT;

RUN;

Assuming a duplicate record situation its keep only the first record based on the record key combination of:

DSCNMBR ICASSUF ICASTYPE MSACOMP DCSPOL DCSCERT

There isn't an easy way to replicate this in SQL and I wouldn't recommend it.

thnkgreen
Calcite | Level 5

If you *HAD* to replicate it, what would you do?

DBailey
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

maybe

proc sql;

create table want as select

t1.*

from

have t1

inner join (

select DSCNMBR, ICASSUF, ICASTYPE, MSACOMP, DCSPOL, DCSCERT, min(DCSADD) as MinDCSADD

from have

group by DSCNMBR, ICASSUF, ICASTYPE, MSACOMP, DCSPOL, DCSCERT

) t2

on t1.DSCNMBR = t2.DSCNMBR and t1.ICASSUF = t2.ICASSUF and t1.ICASTYPE = t2.ICASTYPE and t1.MSACOMP = t2.MSACOMP and t1.DCSPOL = t2.DCSPOL

and t1.DCSCERT = t2.MinDCSADD

;

quit;

thnkgreen
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you both for your suggestions.  I am still having trouble with this.  I am wanting to re-write this code in MS Access SQL. 

Reeza
Super User

Does your table have more columns than listed in By statement?

Can you have duplicates by dcsadd?

thnkgreen
Calcite | Level 5