BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
stuart753
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm new to SAS and am interested in exploring PROC SQL capabilities because I have some experience working with SQL.  I'm using Base SAS 9.4.

I've been through the PROC SQL examples in the SAS documentation, however I didn't see anything relating to Window functions.  From what I understood in the documentation, SAS SQL is ANSI compliant.  (If I'm running SQL on a SAS dataset versus connecting to some other database provider.)

I created the following simple query to test a window aggregate function:

proc sql;

select model, make, msrp,
     SUM(MSRP) OVER() AS SumOfMSRP
     from sashelp.cars;

quit;

However this isn't working.  The error highlights the OVER clause in my window aggregate function as the problem.  (For the most part, SAS appears to be expecting a comparison operator.

Has anyone had any success with using SQL Window Functions in PROC SQL when querying SAS datasets?

Any insight is appreciated!

Stuart

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

There is now also PROC FedSQL which is core ANSI compliant SAS(R) 9.4 FedSQL Language Reference, Third Edition - but this doesn't mean everything has been implemented and there are still no WINDOW type functions (you can always use them directly with native data base SQL using explicit pass-through).

PROC FedSQL is rather new and not commonly used (yet?) so it's may be better you get first familiar with PROC SQL SAS(R) 9.4 SQL Procedure User's Guide   

When working with data bases make sure to also use these manuals SAS/ACCESS(R) 9.4 for Relational Databases: Reference, Sixth Edition , for example when it comes to the list of functions which SAS can pass down to the data base for execution SAS/ACCESS(R) 9.4 for Relational Databases: Reference, Sixth Edition .

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Reeza