BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DanielJohansson
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I am a VERY green SAS user, having been handed a PROC MIXED script from the powers that be - or rather, that were, considering they have left the scene, and I have precious few, if any, people to turn to for advice on this sort of problem. I have tried to peruse the forum for problems like this, and I understand that it's not completely rare, but also that the problems are usually very specific in nature, depending on the sort of data you have. For that reason, I'm now trying to submit my own question, having banged my head against the proverbial wall for a couple of weeks. Any and all help would be greatly and humbly appreciated.

First off, let me restate that I am very very new at this, and that my knowledge of statistics is practical at best - the mathematics and lingo is still well beyond my grasp, and at the moment I am approaching the different methods much like a 15-year-old might approach a carpenter workshop: a hammer is used for a specific task, a screwdriver for another - and I'm still sometimes, in my utter ignorance, probably using a screwdriver when I should have used a hammer. The metaphor is clumsy, but it sadly illustrates my position fairly well.

Having said that, here's my conundrum. I'll try to be as specific as possible, and I hope you will forgive if I become unnecessarily long-winded.