BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,

I am very new to SAS

I want to get the number of transactions that happened in a particular hour of the day. I have a log database which has transaction details and time occurred. I run a frequency on the Hour to get number of transactions happened in an hour. If there is no txns happen in a particular hour I want it to be displayed as frequency 0. Is there any way customize PROC FREQ for this.

Thanks in advance
6 REPLIES 6
Paige
Quartz | Level 8
One way is to modify your table of transactions before your run PROC FREQ so that every hour of the day is represented by a dummy transaction, and there is a weight variable which takes on a value of 0 for those dummy transactions. Real transactions have a weight of 1.

Then in PROC FREQ, use the WEIGHT weightvar /ZEROS; command
Peter_C
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
try PROC MEANS, which has at least two options that meet what you seek. Copied from the online-doc :

COMPLETETYPES
Create all possible combinations of class variable values

CLASSDATA=
Specify a secondary data set that contains the combinations of class variables to analyze

In that secondary data set you would place the time points at which you want summary.
Perhaps you should follow the examples
http://support.sas.com/onlinedoc/913/getDoc/en/proc.hlp/a000357025.htm

Another way to make PROC MEANS do what you need might be to use the "PRELOADFMT" feature described in the doccumentation and demonstrated at the example http://support.sas.com/onlinedoc/913/getDoc/en/proc.hlp/a000353486.htm

just remember to use a format for the datetime value that gives you the hour of the day ( even if you have to create it ~~> with PROC FORMAT 😉

all good solutions

good luck
PeterC
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hey..

Both the solutions worked .. Thank you very much
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,

In PROC FREQ how to remove the proc titles

The FREQ Procedure &
Table of X by Y.