BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
xliu1
Quartz | Level 8

I am very new to SAS. Anyone can help me with the warning message? The query works fines until I used substr() function three times to extract month, date, and year of a birthdate. The output only shows the column of "Date of birth month"

xliu1_0-1584646835875.png

xliu1_1-1584646902519.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Please post your code as text not images, posting images means to correct your code I have to type it out rather than copy/paste. 

You did not give your variables names so you need to add in a name for each variable, not just a label. It'll work fine if you do it with one expression, but if you have multiple expressions without names, the default names is the same and that causes issues.

substr(...., 5, 2) as BirthMonth label="date of birth month", 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

Please post your code as text not images, posting images means to correct your code I have to type it out rather than copy/paste. 

You did not give your variables names so you need to add in a name for each variable, not just a label. It'll work fine if you do it with one expression, but if you have multiple expressions without names, the default names is the same and that causes issues.

substr(...., 5, 2) as BirthMonth label="date of birth month", 

xliu1
Quartz | Level 8

Than you very much for your response. I changed my code according to your suggestion, and it works out! see my revised code

proc sql outobs=100;
    create table NPSAS20_Enrollment as
        select P.UID label='Student ID',
        P.NAME_FIRST label='First Name',
        P.NAME_MI label='Middle Name',
        P.NAME_LAST label='Last Name',
        P.SUFFIX label='Name suffix',
        P.GENDER label='Sex',