BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kari
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new to SAS and using weighted samples. 

Before I run my descriptives and analyses I need to merge two files and turn on weights. 

Specifically, I have one file that has my variables of interest and another that has my demographic variables. On top of that I have been instructed to merge two variables within each file to get individual scores. Does this make sense? 

IF so I am looking to determine the proper code to merge these files while also considering the need to merge these two variables with one another. - next step weighting!

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User

Providing some examples of what the files to merge currently look like and what the merged result should be is a good starting point to helping us help you.

One thing in 'merging' is how do you know which record in one file goes with which record in the other. Is there a variable (or 2 or 3 or ...) that uniquely identifies each record that is to be used to match the sets?

@kari wrote:

Hello,

On top of that I have been instructed to merge two variables within each file to get individual scores. Does this make sense? 

Not with out some sort of examples not much. This sounds somewhat like recoding which is using some rules to manipulate your data into a desired form. Such as setting a single category based on the values of two variables such as weight status might depend on gender, height and weight.

kari
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,

Thank you so much for the reply!

The first dataset contain most of my variables of interest and the second contains the demographic variables.