BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DanielePugno
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SAS studio and I was trying to use the "proc HPNEURAL" and after I specified all the parameters and the instructions, and ran the code, this message "ERROR: Interval variables must be numeric (F7)." was displayed in the LOG.

Someone can help me to understand what's the meaning of that and how to fix it?

If you need other information I'd glad to give it to you.

Thank you for your consideration

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You are trying to use a character variable where a numeric variable is required. You can't do that. Perhaps you need to change F7 to numeric first; or perhaps you simply don't want to change F7 to numeric, in which case you can't use it as an interval variable, but it could be used as a categorical variable. You have look at the values of F7 and decide how to move forward.

--
Paige Miller
DanielePugno
Calcite | Level 5

alfanum_variable.png

 First of all, thank you for your help!
I saw in the import output that F7 column is taken as alfanum, but in excel (input file) the cells type is "number" and the content is only the value 0 or 1.
How can I change the type of f7,F8 and ecc from Alfanum in Num?

Thank you for your consideration!

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

"IMPORT"?

What is the source of the SAS dataset?  Did you use PROC IMPORT to read from a TEXT file, such as a CSV file?  If so then replace the PROC IMPORT step with your own data step where you will have control over how the variables are defined.

If you used PROC IMPORT to read from an actual EXCEL worksheet it would only have made F7 as character if the column was completely empty or there was at least one cell that had a character string instead of a number.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Excel is always irrelevant. You need to check the SAS data set and not the Excel file, because SAS Studio works on SAS data sets, not Excel files.