BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
chris_anon1
Calcite | Level 5

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to SAS, and am having trouble calculating the mean time for a dataset.

My data is in military time, but the problem is that the central peak of the distribution is centered at midnight. So, instead of having a single peak at midnight, SAS gives me two peaks: one around 11:59 PM and another around 12:01 AM (or, as my dataset has, one peak at 2359 and another 0001).

I was wondering how I might code SAS to realize that time is continuous through midnight.

By the way, my code so far looks like this:

proc univariate data=timesr;

var hour;

histogram;

run;

Thank you in advance!

9 REPLIES 9
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Basically SAS is using a continuous time either in seconds (floating number) or in days (floating number) wit a point of zero at 1 jan 1960 (make that Zulu time going into NLS).  SAS(R) 9.4 Language Reference: Concepts, Fourth Edition  Whatever you have done with the var hour is something that disturbed that concepts.

Another basic one with SAS is that you do not need to recode content/real values but can apply formatting. SAS(R) 9.4 Formats and Informats: Reference
SAS(R) 9.4 Formats and Informats: Reference Limiting the length to hour or defining a own format handling that should solve your question.

There is not that information on the data you are processing, please give more info.....

---->-- ja karman --<-----
Reeza
Super User

Does your data have a date component?

If so, add a date to your time variable and then format it to show only the time. 

Another method would be to centre the data around midnight and then draw the histogram.

chris_anon1
Calcite | Level 5

I've added the corresponding dates, but I'm not sure how to format it to show only hour. Any help you can offer with this?

gergely_batho
SAS Employee

format t tod2.;

chris_anon1
Calcite | Level 5