BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Augusto
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Everyone,

It's my first time question here. I am searching whether there is another way to insert values into a existent table

using data step rather than proc sql like this (proc sql; insert into table values (1); quit;). I would like to know

if is possible to insert a value into a table with no need to recreate this table like in proc sql?

Thanks all.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Look at the MODIFY statement.

proc sql;

insert into tb.want  (code, age) values (3, 27);

quit;

data tb.want;

modify tb.want;

code=3;

age=27;

output;

stop;

run;

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
art297
Opal | Level 21

Is this all you are looking to do?:

data want;

set sashelp.class;

retain newvariable (1);

run;

Augusto
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi art.

Thanks for your quickly answer.

In fact what i'm looking for is another way to do the following:

data tb.want;

input

code

age;

datalines;

1 25

2 26

;

run;

and if i need to insert more values into a want table the only way that i know is doing the following;

proc sql;

insert into tb.want  

(code, age)

values

(3, 27);

quit;

I would like to know if is possible to insert values at the bottom of the file using another way?

art297
Opal | Level 21

You are looking to append additional records to a dataset.  One way would be to create the new data in a datastep and then add them with proc append.

Reeza
Super User

There's a couple of ways. Where will the new data be coming from?

If its in a dataset then proc append or a proc sql insert will work.

proc sql;

insert into have

select code, age from table1;

quit;

I think the order of the variable matters though.

Another option to try is

data want;

set have end=eof;

if eof then do;

code here to insert new records

end;

run;

Augusto